University of Padua

2020 Dataset on local gambling regulations in Italy

Bassoli, Matteo and Baratin, Anna and Cagnoli, Federica and Andreato, Mariachiara and Antonello, Patrich and Bassi, Alberto and Bellotti, Damiano and Bordin, Bordin and Bresolin, Gian Paolo and Brugin, Sofia and Carion, Alessandro and Carlotto, Gabriele and Casarotto, Riccardo and Chinellato, Cecilia and Chinellato, Elisa and Dal Santo, Giulia and Dalla Via, Tarita and Di Felice, Lorenza and Farinelli, Pierpaolo and Ferrara, Mirko and Fichera, Cristina and Flore, Alessia and Giarola, Michele and Girotti, Chiara and Giuffrè, Giulio and Giuliani, Martina and Lentini, Davide and Leone, Serena and Martinello, Mattia and Mazzon, Giacomo and Modafferi, Franco Leonardo and Niero, Mattia and Panerotti, Erika and Pasqualini, Silvia and Pavan, Elia and Perrone, Mattia and Quaggiotto, Davide and Sgobbi, Marco and Simionato, Anna and Tadiotto, Giovanni and Targa, Maddalena and Trafeli, Marco and Turrini, Anna and Volpato, Pierandrea and Zaminato, Irene and Zanelli, Carolina and Zerajic De Giorgio, Maria Emilia (2021) 2020 Dataset on local gambling regulations in Italy. [Data Collection]

Collection description

The dataset provides the complete enumeration of gambling policies implemented by Italian Municipalities between 2003 and 2021. The dataset comprises information on all municipalities existing in 2017 and following years (thus considering also merging). The following variables are available: Municipality ISTAT Code (ID), Municipality Name (Name) Province, Region, Researcher, and a series of variables identifying the number and the type of rulings adopted (“regolamento”, “ordinanza” and “delibera”). The rulings are distinguished between identified and downloaded or only identified (because the document is no longer available). Additional variables describe municipal activism with other administrative acts (Anti-gambling Manifesto, events, projects or tax reductions). Overall, the dataset comprises 8031 units.

DOI: 10.25430/researchdata.cab.unipd.it.00000569
Keywords: Gambling policy, Gambling regulations, Italy, Mapping, 2020, Urban policy, Mappatura, Ordinanza, Delibera, Regomento, Azzardo
Subjects: Social Sciences and Humanities > Institutions, Values, Environment and Space :Political science, law, sustainability science, geography, regional studies and planning > Political systems, governance
Social Sciences and Humanities > Institutions, Values, Environment and Space :Political science, law, sustainability science, geography, regional studies and planning > Legal studies, constitutions, human rights, comparative law
Social Sciences and Humanities > Institutions, Values, Environment and Space :Political science, law, sustainability science, geography, regional studies and planning > Urban, regional and rural studies
Social Sciences and Humanities > The Social World, Diversity, Population: Sociology, social psychology, social anthropology, demography, education, communication > Social policies, welfare
Department: Departments > Dipartimento di Scienze politiche, giuridiche e studi internazionali (SPGI)
Depositing User: Matteo Bassoli
Date Deposited: 20 Dec 2021 08:09
Last Modified: 30 Jun 2022 23:15
Creators/Authors:
CreatorsEmailORCID
Bassoli, Matteomatteo.bassoli@unipd.itorcid.org/0000-0003-3601-9099
Baratin, Annaanna.baratin@studenti.unipd.itorcid.org/0000-0003-0024-434X
Cagnoli, Federicafederica.cagnoli@studenti.unipd.itorcid.org/0000-0001-9259-8027
Andreato, MariachiaraMariachiara Andreato <mariachiara.andreato@studenti.unipd.it>UNSPECIFIED
Antonello, Patrichpatrich.antonello@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Bassi, Albertoalberto.bassi.2@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Bellotti, Damianodamiano.bellotti@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Bordin, Bordinfederico.bordin.3@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Bresolin, Gian Paologianpaolo.bresolin@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Brugin, Sofiasofia.brugin@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Carion, Alessandroalessandro.carion@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Carlotto, Gabrielegabriele.carlotto@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Casarotto, Riccardoriccardo.casarotto.2@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Chinellato, Ceciliacecilia.chinellato@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Chinellato, Elisaelisa.chinellato.2@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Dal Santo, Giuliagiulia.dalsanto.5@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Dalla Via, Taritatarita.dallavia@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Di Felice, Lorenzalorenza.difelice@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Farinelli, Pierpaolopierpaolo.farinelli@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Ferrara, Mirkomirkoferrara1997@gmail.comUNSPECIFIED
Fichera, Cristinacristina.fichera@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Flore, Alessiaalessia.flore@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Giarola, Michelemichele.giarola@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Girotti, Chiarachiara.girotti.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Giuffrè, Giuliogiulio.giuffre.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Giuliani, Martinamartina.giuliani@studenti.unipd.it>UNSPECIFIED
Lentini, Davidedavide.lentini@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Leone, Serenaserenaleone96@hotmail.itUNSPECIFIED
Martinello, Mattiamattia.martinello@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Mazzon, Giacomogiacomo.mazzon.2@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Modafferi, Franco Leonardofrancoleonardo.modafferi@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Niero, Mattiamattia.niero.2@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Panerotti, Erikaerika.panerotti@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Pasqualini, Silviasilvia.pasqualini.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Pavan, Eliaelia.pavan.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Perrone, Mattiamattia.perrone.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Quaggiotto, Davidedavide.quaggiotto.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Sgobbi, Marcomarco.sgobbi.1@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Simionato, Annasimionato.anna.3@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Tadiotto, Giovannigiovanni.tadiotto@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Targa, Maddalenamaddalena.targa@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Trafeli, Marcomarco.trafeli@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Turrini, Annaanna.turrini@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Volpato, Pierandreapierandrea.volpato@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Zaminato, Ireneirene.zaminato@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Zanelli, Carolinacarolina.zanelli@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Zerajic De Giorgio, Maria Emiliamariaemilia.zerajicdegiorgio@studenti.unipd.itUNSPECIFIED
Corporate creators: Centro Interdipartimentale di Studi Regionali (CISR) “Giorgio Lago”
Type of data: Text
Collection period:
FromTo
1 April 202015 October 2020
Temporal coverage:
FromTo
20032020
Geographic coverage: Italy
Data collection method: Sampling frame The units of analysis are Italian municipalities. The mapping procedure adopted a sampling frame for Italian municipalities based on the ISTAT list of municipalities in the year 2017 (January 1) as main inclusionary criteria (7983 units), corrected for those municipalities active in the year 2020. The resulting list thus also includes some municipalities that later merged into new municipalities in 2018, 2019 and 2020, for a total of 8031 units. As for the variables, we did not set any time limits, thus considering all documentation available. During the period April 15 – July 31, 2020, we divided all municipalities into 41 groups via randomized assignment without re-insertion. A group of municipalities was assigned to each researcher. During the period August 1 – October 15, 2020, three additional researchers checked three additional groups of cities (produced with random selection), to check for consistency. Mapping protocol The protocol was developed by Bassoli and Pedroni (2015) and later adapted for this dataset. We gathered information on the presence of local ruling using a standard procedure of web-search based on keywords. We identified three phases for our search: the web search, the municipal website and gambling dedicated websites. As for the first phase, we opted for the Google™ search-engine because it is the most widely used search engine and the one with a stronger user-led learning algorithm. We then identified two possible sets of key words for each type of act (regolamento, ordinanza and delibera) ("Comune + [name of the municipality] + azzardo + [type of act]" and "Comune + [name of the municipality] + ludopatia + [type of act]") and two additional key words influenced by the language used in the official documents and tested by Bassoli and Pedroni (2015)("Comune + [name of the municipality] + gioco + regolamento and "Comune + [name of the municipality] + apparecchi + ordinanza") As for the second phase, we analysed both the online public notices board (with only recent publications) and its archive (with older documents). The keywords used to find relevant documents in the online archives were “apparecchi”, “azzardo” and “ludopatia”. While within each document (to check the document relevance) the key words were the following: “awp”, “sale giochi” and “slot machines”. Finally, for the third focal phase, we selected six websites identified using key-informants: agimeg.it, avvisopubblico.it, gioconews.it, jamma.tv, legalita.net, and pressgiochi.it. All the information obtained on the web was inserted in two documents: the database and a survey gathering information about each document, which is available upon request.
Statement on legal, ethical and access issues: The focus of the research was identifying formal regulations (regolamento, ordinanza and delibera). Therefore, the variables Reg, Regi, Regin, Ord, Ordi, Ordin, and Deli were collected using consistent procedures and a thorough mapping of the building regulation (Rege). Other information contained in the dataset is of lower quality. For example, the variables indicating the subscription of the “Manifesto dei sindaci per la legalità contro il gioco d’azzardo” (Manifesto_d, Manifesto), the presence of tax deduction (Tari), the presence of a political debate (Dibattito) or the development of specific projects (Proj) were collected to provide only a general understanding of local gambling activism. The keywords were not coherent with a thorough mapping of the building regulation (Rege), Finally, the dataset does not contain information about the temporal validity of each document thus, hindering the possibility of determining the level of policy coverage per year.
Resource language: English
Metadata language: English
Publisher: Research Data Unipd
Date: 17 December 2021
Copyright holders: The Author
Last Modified: 30 Jun 2022 23:15
URI: https://researchdata.cab.unipd.it/id/eprint/569

Available Files

Full Archive

Other

Cite As

Begin typing (e.g. Chicago or IEEE.) or use the drop down menu.

Begin typing (e.g. en-GB for English, Great Britain) or use the drop down menu.

Export As